General Club Rules

General Rules (Last amended 19 May 2016)

1.The Society shall be called the Leicester Forest Photographic Society and membership shall be open to all interested in Photography.

2.Membership of the Society implies the undertaking to comply with and abide by these rules.

3.The annual subscription shall be fixed for the following year at the AGM, and will be payable from the distribution of the programme and membership forms (usually in June). Any member not renewing their subscription by the end of August will be deemed to have resigned.

4.New members joining after November 1st will pay a pro-rata rate according to the remaining months left in the season.

5.No refund of subscriptions in whole or part will be payable to members who leave the society for any reason.

6.The Officers shall consist of the President, Vice-President, Immediate Past President, Hon. Secretary and Hon. Treasurer.

7.The affairs of the Society shall be managed by the Officers and a Committee of ten to fifteen members. This Committee shall appoint further Officers and Secretaries as is necessary.

8.The retiring President shall remain on the committee until the next AGM in the office of Immediate Past President, the Vice President shall become the President the following year. The committee shall elect one of their number to be the next vice president. The remaining Officers and Committee members will all become eligible for re-election annually at the AGM.

9.A Nomination Board shall be on display twenty-one days before the AGM, for the nomination of the Hon Secretary, Hon Treasurer and Committee. Each nominee must be a member of the Society who is in agreement to serve and have a Proposer and Seconder. These nominees for Officers and Committee members will be elected at the AGM.

10.Special General Meetings may be convened on receipt of a requisition signed by at least five ordinary paid up members, stating the object, and sent to the Secretary at least twenty-one days before the proposed date of that meeting.

11.At Committee meetings seven shall form a quorum, and at Annual or Special General meetings fifteen.

12.The Secretary shall keep Minutes of all Committee, Annual, and Special General meetings, and also conduct the correspondence of the Society business.

13.The Treasurer shall collect all subscriptions and moneys due to the Society after authorisation of the Committee. He shall present a Balance Sheet at the AGM which has been 'Audited' by an Ordinary member appointed at the previous AGM.

14.Equipment purchased by the Society shall remain the property of the Society, and shall be shown on the Balance Sheet.

15.The Society shall not be held responsible for any individual member's infringement of the copyright laws.

16.In the event that it is necessary to permanently disband the Society at any time, then all monies from bank accounts, and that raised from sale of assets etc, shall be given to suitable charities, nominated by the members present at the concluding Annual or Special General Meeting called for that purpose.

17.No alteration shall be made to these rules except at an AGM, or a Special General meeting so called for the purpose. Twenty-one days notice of this meeting and any proposed rule changes must be given in writing. Two thirds of the members present shall constitute a majority.

18.The Committee shall have the power to deal with any contingency which may arise and which is not provided for in these rules.

Contact Us